Uniquenesssssssss….

…..is what everyone are up to nowadays,esp when it comes to naming their kids. Short, beautiful,different and uncommon are few of the criteria.And why not? Our little darlings definitely deserve their public identity to be unique .But sometimes, the race behind uniqueness yields a different result.

‘Z’ is the trend of the season.Most of the newly born girls are christenedΒ Β Zahra,Zehra,Zaira,Zaara,Saira,Saara,Sarah…and sometimes Ziyan for a change.

Bollywood influence cannot be neglected either.After Fiza(the movie) released,the girls were – Fiza, Fida or Farah. And ever since Fanaa(the movie) all the newly born boys are baptized Ryan,Rayan,Rayyan,Rehan,Rehaan,Reyhaan and other variations of these. This season has not ended so far and is likely to continue until such a subtle yet beautiful name comes in another movie.No doubt this is a beautiful name and I too wanted to name my boy the same.But I was late to marry and lots of them in my age had noticed the name,so by the time we had a baby the name had become too common.Luckily we had a girl,so it wasnt tough.

Back at my hometown, all my Hindu friends have their girls named as Gowri or Gayathri. Most of the hansome lil ones are Aditya, Adarsh or Abhinav.

Just cant stop imagining a class of Zahra’s and Rehan’s and Gowri’s filling the attendance sheet πŸ™‚

‘Z’ is what my name begins with,and it gave me lotta troubles at school.Wait patiently till the 89th call for attendance, wait another 2 more weeks for the text book stock would be over by the 80th student,and so and so..But I always loved my name going Zzzzzz πŸ™‚

My relatives chose their twins the rhyming names – Diya and Dua.Very pretty names as much as the kids are.But it didnt stop the parents.To avoid confusion at home,they chose two nicknames – Chikku and Jikku πŸ™‚ Yeah!!That indeed avoids confusion. Another couple has named their kids Zahra(girl) and Zahran(boy).There is a commotion when they are called as no one knows who is being addressed πŸ™‚

A beautiful girl I met at the mall nearby was named Maha.I had not come across the name before,and was curious about the meaning.Did some googling.It meant Wild Cow with large eyes πŸ™‚

A girl friend and her bro were born on April and October respectively and are named Aprilmol and Octobril πŸ™‚ Easy right?

Note:I mean no offense to anyone.All the names above are marvelous.But if it has hurt you in some way,please forgive.

19 thoughts on “Uniquenesssssssss….

  1. Few interesting Muslim names I have known.. Arsheen(g), Liaz(b), Hisham(b)…Not sure if they are rare but they are very beautiful names that I have known and wondered if their(my best friend’s parents) would take it offensive if I want to choose a Muslim name for my child ( I am Hindu)…
    And I see a lot of S and Z too… A and D for boys…Adrith, Dhritvi, Dhruv….
    As long as everyone can spell them right πŸ™‚

  2. Mine was easy BIKRAMJIT came pretty quick in the roll call ..

    It is a big problem naming a child these days as my cousins are still figuring out what to name their kid its been 3 weeks already ..

  3. Besides naming after the month the baby was born in I have come across many names by the city the baby was born in…like Sydney, Chicago and the like.
    When I had to pick a name for my baby, I had gone by most relevant meaning, which to every one’s surprise still holds true after a sea change that my daughter and I saw and faced in our lives since her birth πŸ˜€
    I love names starting with z πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  4. Aprilmol sounds so mal πŸ™‚ haaa haa You know what zzzzzzzz, there is a theory as to how Malayalees name their children, they take the first letters of the father and mother, join and viola there is a name, maybe not meaningful at all, but all the same, a name as unique …. and there is a family I know starting with B so they go Benjamin, Becky, Bitty, Bejjy, Bini, Binu, Bikku and so on and so forth…
    And I know somebody who has Jikku for an official name!

    Just one caution to all the parents to be, name is one so very important aspect our personality, please do be careful when naming your kids.. unique or otherwise! nowadays the main consideration is that it should be easily pronounced all over the world, names like mine are butchered by the non-indian so I do have to look out for a shortened form

    cya around often, now that I am back blogging actively

    • Owais is a rare name..i have had a friend with the same in my engg college though…that was when i heard of this name for the first time..so welcome to my blog and thanks for liking it..please come back and put in your thoughts..btw, where did u find my blog from?

  5. Traditionally it was the elders who picked the right name for the new kid. They only new a handful of names, and cinema especially bollywood wasn’t as influencial as it is today – so names were pretty standard.

    Today, the world has changed, with access to the Internet and more influence from cinema (bollywood) people have begun to stretch their mind ability and look outside of the box when it comes to picking a name.

    I agree, short and unique is the trend now a days, but over time, this two will change ( I believe) when people will start to keep longer names and more traditional ones.

    • Welcome to my space..Thanks for the lovely comment..A couple of parents i know have actually gone back those olden days and picked up the longer ones like malavika,kalyani,mythili and so..i mean from the puranas πŸ™‚

  6. Oh one of the things I believe parents should keep this roll call thing in mind while naming a child. being at the end is a pain for all the years in school and college especially during external vivas!

    • Oh!!I still remember the tension that built inside for the vivas..as usual i was the last..and thats why i dint want to daughter to start with any alphabets at the end…

  7. I know a guy who named his daughter .. erm .. I don’t remember the exact word , anyways the point is , after he named her he knew it meant ‘Ugly’. I think that kid still has that name. πŸ™‚
    Good post. πŸ™‚
    Drop by my blog if you’re bored. Thank you πŸ™‚

  8. Pingback: What’s there in a NAME? « Bhavia's Blog

Leave a Reply

