Ssshh…Here is a secret,..

“Sssshh…Here is a secret.But wait…errr..!You are a girl,I can’t tell you”…What an INSULT!!!

An average women cannot keep secret for longer than 47 hrs, a news study says. Read it here. http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/newstopics/howaboutthat/6199822/Women-cannot-keep-a-secret-for-longer-than-47-hours.html

I have been hearing this for long. According to the theory, guys generally talk about hi funda stuffs,cars and bikes,computers,good looking girls,social affairs and other ‘non-personal’ matters and are therefore supposed to hold secrets. Girls talk a lot, mostly gossip and therefore can’t hold one. Well, there are some women who have a sudden urge to discuss about anything they hear, but please don’t generalize. Having considerable numbers of friends – both boys and girls – I know people of both genders who can keep secrets and the ones who would spill the beans. Me? I swear if someone has told me a secret, I can keep it as a secret to my grave.

But people mistake me for lots…Reason? I am sociable,friendly and cordial. And on a general opinion,people who fall in this category,cant keep secrets… BIL was shifting to a new house and wanted to surprise his parents. Says he believe everyone will keep it, but not me. Arey bhaiyyaaa… He is half as social as I am.But social people are sensible too.They know what to talk, what not to. I do not need a label like that..

I have kept secrets for long, pretended that it never existed, lied when asked about it and refused politely when forced to. It needs will power to do that. I have even denied my ears to juicy secrets to the fear of spilling them. Yes, I love gossip but I do not want to hurt people. I respect others privacy as much as I respect mine. I respect others information as much as I do to mine.

If one confides, I can zip my mouth. But if one just communicates, how the hell am I supposed to know it is not to be conveyed – unless it is about love,affair,marriage,pregnancy,illness or some other serious note that is likely to cause harm to you or others? X was on leave for a day in office.He came back and told that he was on a trip to his friend’s home.So when someone inquired I said the same.Now he comes and questions why I went around and told everyone everything?WHAT#?#??$??$?$He reacts to this incident by putting his girls friend’s picture in a social networking site and I am certified as the owner of a loose tongue. I dint even knew about his affair.Its been 3 yrs,I still am not clear where I went wrong.

So I am social and while talking, silly matters like X went for a movie which was a flop and still had lots of fun would be passed on. I wouldn’t have known that X had not taken Y,and not told W about it.So again,I am a ‘No Covert’ material. Then why on the first hand did you tell me this?And once told why dint you tell it was not to be told?

A secret is not a secret anymore once told.And if you want to keep it a secret,either keep it to yourself or choose the ‘to-be-told-person’ carefully…No more GENERALISATIONS!! No more BLAMING!!

12 thoughts on “Ssshh…Here is a secret,..

  1. After being cheated by a lot of my friends,I stopped sharing secrets.It was like he/she must have told the whole world about my secret and me like a fool will think that nobody knows.
    Later stopped sharing my personal matters with others,I started feeling that why should I tell others about whatever I feel or whatever I know..

    But our relationship was different..i don’t know why..at times when I hear something,all I wanted is to send you an offline chat or a text 😛 😛

  2. I have reached a stage now where i dont trust people so easily and if i trust they know it all .. but after some of the ex[periences I have had and how friends or people who said they loved me and cared for me .. so i have become a bit closed ..

    so i dont share secrets and I dont speak of others secrets tooo..

    not sure how good this theory is , i guess the age old thing that women gossip a lot is probably the reason behind this all.. But then how accurate is this who knows .. I dont agree with many of these studies done .. they take a set of people and do a study ..

    I have got a palthora of scerets all those people who are no more friends or think otherwise of me can rest assured their secrets are safe I am not the one who blurts out .. even if I talk a lot 🙂

  3. Hi Zradar! I am guilty of this charge.. atleast when I was much younger. Even now its hard to not share some juicy gossip.. But I have learnt the hard way (with my secrets being spilled) and so now there is a sense of judicious babbling.. 😀 Lovely post.

  4. Oh I’ve kept secrets like for so many years and I know I can keep them forever! Though I’ll not deny the fact that most of the times I’ve seen girl friends passing the secret to her best friend thinking that she doesn’t have any best friend 😛

Leave a Reply

