Strange happiness

Certain things may be strange, brings a strange happiness though.

Have been lazing around too much lately, so went for the treadmill. Our appt has given free access to gym and so there I was, with my lazy bone, straining my legs at 3.5 km/hr ๐Ÿ˜‰ The only reason I went ahead with this regular gym idea (ofcourse not the concern of excess fat or want of toned muscles) is want of solitude. This one room in our appt is rarely used by people, and I get my time, my own dear time for myself. This is when blog ideas strike my otherwise unoccupied mind.

While I was in my own world, the door opened. An intruder into the me-myself moments. Grrrโ€ฆI sighed and looked upon to find short, stout elderly lady in her 60 something walking inside. The way she wore her sari, I could easily make out that she is a patti from Chennai. โ€œI am from tamil naduโ€,was written on her forehead.

With only 1 treadmill and my more than (usual) half an hour completed , I courteously lowered the speed to stop the machine. How I assumed that elders would use only treadmills!!

She gently pulled up her sari a bit.It revealed two tiny black palm shoes on her wrinkled legs. She jumped onto the cycle as the seat was a bit higher for her. I was worried she would be hurt. Stopped my machine and respectfully went to help. To my surprise she jumped again, adjusted the seat, smiled at me and started cycling.

I stood apologetic โ€“ I prejudged her age and awareness. Moreover, I use excuses and only use treadmill.

After my self introduction, she told me about the benefits of exercise and how fit she is than the rest of her age. She dint look that fit to me ๐Ÿ™‚ but I totally appreciate her interest to adapt and be a part of this era that is extensively different from her times. The docile way of socializing, the mellow yet captive voice. I respect her. She may look unusual and uncommon to the gym, but certain strange things brings a strange happiness along.

16 thoughts on “Strange happiness

  1. Its been a long time, since I hit the gym. And just reading your post, made me want to go back there, cos I too get good feeling and my grey cells start thinking of things to write, while I’m there. And true, we sometimes judge a book by its cover. Its just so easy to do that. And I love it when I realise I am wrong about my judgement. It makes me happy too.

  2. Thanks for sharing. Your post made me think of Mammen Sir. He is a 90 something Gandhian who lives in our neighborhood. He has this daily routine of exercising for about 45 minutes every morning and as far as I can remember he went everywhere by walk. and you know what, he is still fit as a fiddle. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hello Zach, Even my father goes for a morning walk regularly..So does most of his friends. And that discipline would be osmethg people of our generation has to ook upon and learn

    • Thanks for following Deepak. I too prefer walking. Lots of my friend in college remembers me as a person who loved to walk for hrs..i was never tired if I had company ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. i wouldn’t say its strange, but s sometimes what we think is true by us mayy not be… Prejudging comes a a natural thing to us indians, i was the same and it takes time to come out of it… but see u got to know something new by interacting with her ๐Ÿ™‚ way to go yaar ๐Ÿ™‚

    Take care and keep writing……….

Leave a Reply

