Oh!!It doesn’t matter.. Post 10

Scene1

A: ” F got married. Did you know?”

Me: “Nope”.

A:”You were like best buddies in college. I thought you knew”.

Me:”Nope”.

A:”Well,he has invited me home.So I should be meeting the family soon”.

Me:”Good.Convey my regards to the newly wed”

Scene2

Me:”Hi F, Its been long. Heard about your marriage. Congratulations!!”.

F:”Thanks. Sorry, I dint inform earlier. So whats up with you?”

Me:”No probs. Thats ok. Doesnt matter. Am fine…….”.

Seems like am out of touch with lot of my old friends. A lot of us have. It is quite normal now a days. But even with all the easier means of communication available, they forget to update you on even the most important event of their lives. Am not demanding an invitation, but I do expect to be informed. And I still say it doesnt matter…

College was almost a decade ago. Yes we were very close then. But the years after that would have definitely brought a lot of changes to his life and mine. We couldn’t remain connected forever and so the bond slightly loosened from both ends. But not informing about the marriage does hurt. And I still say it doesnt matter…

We have all grown up and mature enough not to make an issue of ‘silly’ things. So even when it does matter, we pretend that it doesn’t. We pretend that these years has cultivated us into matured individuals to whom a marriage invitation doesnt matter. We pretend that we have been mellowed of age into those perfect adults who is able to adapt into the imperfect world.

We avoid people. It happens..

They avoid us. They should be busy..

We mailed someone and they didn’t reply.Can’t expect a reply all the time..

Someone mailed and you didn’t reply. They’ll understand.

So a small ignorance from an old friend and these many yrs.. So what??? I moved into the not-so-important list of someone. Doesn’t matter..I have so many others to move on with…He was important.But that was long back.

And I forgot to invite someone for my marriage. How can I remember all of them? It just happened so quick.. Doesn’t matter!!

How many excuses do we make everyday, again to pretend that it doesnt matter while it actually DOES? So what is it that does matter?

As long as we can pretend, though we are certain that our words contradict with the feeling inside, will we still say that it doesnt matter?

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Oh!!It doesn’t matter.. Post 10

  1. I m completly opposite, I am very much in touch with all my friends adn so are they we share a lot now and then.. yes wehave changed , gone different ways, even different continents 🙂

    and may be i am stupid or a a idiot it does matter to me 😦 i guess i am not used to the worldly ways …

    • Thats nice…I was always worried what the world thinks..I mean, while dealing with some people…so they just take advantage some times..

      so lemme try and stop pretending…

  2. Very lately..that means three weeks back something struck me..i called up every soul who was my friend back in school..managed to meet some 10 people..I flattered and proud when I realized that those people still love me and treasuer me alot.. :)That was a wonderful feeling..

      • Thats true.. You know its sometimes me who doesn’t call up friends, or meets them often. There are some friends whom I really admire and love a lot, but never say so and take them for granted. I was just thinking of this last night, and I had decided I’d definitely try and be in touch with them always. 🙂

  3. how true..yes it does matter and I’ve no qualms in admitting this.. but then life’s like this and we’ve made peace with such things taking place in our relationships,haven’t we? so when we have accepted,with heavy heart,then we should move on with feeling sad but flashing a ‘doesn’t matter’ !!!

    Such is life 🙂

    • Its weird that at times we cant express what we feel…Its even more weird that we do not feel good about it and still we do it…Not good at all…

  4. strange bit true that i always wanted to write something about lost friendships . . i had a best friend during my school days and we were like always used to hang out together and all that..but then we happened to get into diff professions and hardly bothered to take a follow up on each other’s lives..she didnt even bother to invite me for her marriage..hurt i was wen i thot back the things i could do to let her stay in my life..sometimes all it takes isa warm text or a call to say hello..that would sure send out the message that u are remembered . . we fail to do that even sometimes ..

  5. Even it happened to me infact,

    But when I was really attached to the person,, If I could know that in time, i used to make it up to his/her marriage and surprise them..

    if we come to know it later.. lets say.. cool//

    well written. I admire you for being a blogger when you are a mom too..

    http://www.readitt.in – the e magazine-

    • Wow!!That infact is a true word of appreciation. Thanks Gowardhan.. It is difficult to digest sometimes that they have forgotten us, but what to do? Thats how life is

Leave a Reply

