World is scary, ain’t it?


I feel secured with my husband who loves me,… But what about the husbands who abandoned/killed the female children when they were born? After the female foeticide that crossed 2 million from last 3 decades, husbands in Indian villages have decided to share their wives.

I have parents who would stand beside me, but what about this girl whose father sold her for drinks and money?

I have neighbors who come to help when needed, but what about the neighbors who took advantage of the insecurity of girls’ in rich families and hardships of the girls’ in the poor families? They do not take protection to prevent aids, but use teenagers instead.

I have friends who would hold onto me forever, but what about the girl who was raped by her friends on friendship day?

I had teachers whom we respected and are still in touch with (even after 15 yrs), but what about this 7 yr old who was stripped in class for not doing her homework? 

I have lived in a city where I grew up safe, but what about this mother and daughter who were striped in public when she resisted two men taking away her 16 yr old daughter?

I have relatives who may not be in good terms with us, but that never took to the extend of them abusing us.

I have had bad experiences/arguments with my colleagues, but the boundary was maintained at a professional level.

I have to thank my family for the freedom they have given me, the knowledge they have shared with me. I have to thank allah for he always had his eyes on me. I may have had a normal and safe life, but what is the guarantee my daughter will have the same?

Back then, when I grew up, the world was just the same. All kinds of threat existed for women. Late night movies, dine outs, boy friends, pubs, beaches, tuitions, local trains, buses – it could have happened anywhere, even right in the middle of the road and in bright day light. The public support would however be zero. Some wouldn’t dare to, some wouldn’t care to. Remember Keenan Santos?.

But back then, I was little aware of the world around. If I knew about Junko Furuta, I doubt if I would have worked late at office or gone out with a colleague. An understanding of her suffering is impossible.

Now that I know how scary the world is, I realize it can only become more dangerous when daughter is grown up. Am sure I woudn’t have any peace of mind until she is back home, safe.

Problem is how to create the awareness properly? How to balance the awareness education and her boldness/confidence that she wouldn’t be scared to step out of home next time?

We can teach her self defense, but presence of mind is more important in practical cases. Where can I get that from?

We may able to show her how a healthy relationship should be, but would she confide if she is not involved in one?

We may create a pleasant environment at home, but how to make her open up without giving her the feeling that we are interfering too much?

How to give her the confidence that we, being her parents, would be alert and accountable, for we are afraid of this inexplicable the world thats waiting for our little one?